Also published through Pulse Media

It might have been snowing and raining across the North West, but inside the Manchester Arena The Tenderloins brought their Impractical Jokers: Santiago Sent Us Tour to warm up a jam-packed crowd.

Ever since I was introduced to the comedy quartet of Sal Vulcano, Joe Gatto, Brian “Q” Quinn, and James “Murr” Murray nearly two years ago and I’ve been a huge fan of their comedy. Their obvious chemistry born out of genuine friendship is something that can’t be faked and it shows when watching the outrageous challenges they set each other to complete on Impractical Jokers.

Up until this my experience of comedy shows had been limited to the more intimate and relaxed atmosphere of a comedy club or festival tent, so going to what was my first comedy show at an arena or stadium left me feeling a bit aloof. The last thing I wanted was for my enjoyment of their humour to be lessened in any way.

20170112_205812
The guys in action

The (quite literal) toilet humour of Joe Gatto and James Murray in the opening joke about Murr’s ex-girlfriend, named “dot com” for her continuous need to finish sentences with the last part of a URL, relaxed the whole crowd, including myself (to my own quiet relief).

A personal highlight was Sal’s skit about road rage, or simply “the rage” as Sal himself calls it. Sal was the overall highlight of the show; his delivery style was reminiscent of an established solo act and I feel he could have easily filled the 90 minute show with his own material.

20170112_222615

The use of big screens to show unseen footage from Impractical Jokers was a nice touch. Their history lies in live improv comedy and sketch comedy but their understanding of how their reputation has grown on a global scale underlines how much they appreciate their audience. I do think it highlights an issue The Tenderloins will have to face soon; that being where does their comedy lie? Are they joke tellers? Improv artists? TV personalities? All three? It’ll be interesting to see what the group focuses on as their careers grow.

I would wholly recommend going to an Impractical Jokers live show. The chemistry of the four guys, their natural charm, and their ability to take a joke makes for a lively and warm hour and a half. Your cheeks are guaranteed to hurt from laughing.

